Flavor Matters, Not Color

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “32 Flavors.”

Flavor Matters, Not Color.

Flavor Matters, Not Color.

‘Hello, my name is Butterscotch. People love me and I love them too. I usually spend my time at the park or at the parlour with my friends. We enjoy it, when people enjoy us. Our life is fun. We sit there at the park and watch families having fun. Kids, kites, slides, seesaws and all that are fun. By the way, Chocolate and Vanilla are my best friends.

We taste different. We are all from different backgrounds. We are all of different colors. We speak different languages too. For example, Chocolate speaks ‘cocoaese’. Yeah, it is as funny as it sounds. We have our own languages. But we all have the same blood running through us – Milk. That’s what unites us. And, sometimes when we look at the people, wandering in the park, the case is different. They have the same blood running through them, some of them speak the same language, and still they are not united. You know why? COLOR. Yeah, the same thing that makes my friend, Chocolate, attractive is the reason for difference among the human beings. If you are a human being reading this, I ask you ‘WHY’. Why is COLOR a reason for difference and discrimination among the human beings?’

So, you have seen what Butterscotch had to tell about this ‘Unwanted Ritual’ in our society. And, I have the same question to ask – Why is color a reason for difference and discrimination among the human beings?

People should be differentiated on the basis of flavor (character) and not color. I like Chocolate, but I don’t like Vanilla. This differentiation is on the basis of flavor and not color. Color gives us a personal identity. And color adds beauty to us (whether it is white or brown or black). Nature decides a person’s color. For example, a person living in the equatorial area will probably be Black. We turn nature’s art into a reason for social imbalance.

I ask you again, Why this ‘Unwanted Ritual’?

#SkinColorIsNature’sArt   #SayNoToRacism

Leave a Reply

